Nike Football Top 5 Commercials

Posted: June 6, 2010 by Alexander Nick in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Only a few days are left until the football world cup finally starts. For marketers the event is even more exciting than the Super Bowl. Adidas allegedly paid EUR 40 million for the official sponsorship rights. However, in the recent weeks it became clear that not Adidas is the winner of the cup, but Nike scored already first with its brilliant ‘Write the Future’ commercial. The clip is definitely amongst the must see videos for every football fan.

Nike definitely used its budget wisely by not buying sponsorship but creating a commercial featuring an overwhelming amount of super-stars. The success, however, does not come from anywhere. Nike’s marketers have quite some experience in creating engaging spots. In this spirit we proudly present the top 5 of Nike’s football spots:

1. Take It To The Next Level
Awarded for: Engaging and passionate commercial with plenty of goosebump potential for every active and inactive soccer player – Nike demonstrated that it understands its consumers and still finds a way to make it’s ‘more stars’ formula work.


2. Cross Bar
Awarded for: The king of sport virals – football players were struck with awe. Is it fake or real was the question back then.

3. Write the future
Awarded for: Brilliant execution, brilliant story, wise utilization of global marketing budget – The spot makes the untouchable football demigods superstars a bit more human.

“The time has come for players to carve their name in history. One touch, tackle or free kick could crush a nation’s hopes or cause them to build a statue in your honour. Drogba, Rooney and Ronaldo are ready to Write The Future. Write yours at http://www.nike.com/nikefootball/”

4. More go
Awarded for: Biritish Humor.

5. Good vs Evil
Awarded for: Nike’s ‘more stars’ formula with an – at that time – innovative twist.

Share

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I strongly disagree! really cannot believe this keeps happening time and time again these days. I was happy in the fact I am not running. The gaffers need to know what will happen to this. Lets see the evolving issues in the future.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I strongly disagree! I am stunned this keeps happening time and time again in modern day times. I was glad I was sat down. We are coming to terms about things moving forward. I will want to know what is happening in the future.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I strongly disagree! I still am startled that this really went on in todays world. I was happy in the fact I was sitting down for this. The gaffers help answer about the future. I am going to keep an eye on the change and going forth.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I totally agree! I’m really startled that this keeps happening time after time these days. I am so glad I am not jogging. The Owners need to know about things in future I need to keep an eye on what is going on moving forward.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I disagree! I am startled that this happened in todays day and age. I was glad I was not running. The Boss’ have asked about this. Lets keep track of this situation to this.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Really?! I am startled that this really did happen these days. I am relieved I am not running. The gaffers know about this. I am going to keep an eye on the problem moving forward.

Leave a Reply

